More than just DX News

WRTC 2014 News Release 21


Windham, NH

December 16, 2013

Onsite Referees for WRTC2014 Announced

WRTC2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC), is pleased to announce the fifty-nine referees that will be monitoring the competing teams during the competition July 12-13, 2014.

A referee will be on site at each of the 59 competing stations to verify compliance with the rules and make decisions on any rule questions by the teams. The referees must be top-level contesters because they must simultaneously listen to the audio from both operators for the entire 24 hours of the WRTC2014 competition.

The referee application and verification process was managed by Dan Street, K1TO. There were 143 applications received. The selection process considered many factors, including geographical areas, language skills and SO2R ability.

Dave Sumner, K1ZZ, Chief Judge for WRTC2014, had this comment regarding the selections, "With so many well qualified volunteers willing to serve as referees it was simply impossible to choose everyone we would have liked. It is a great tribute to the past and present WRTC organizers that the event is so strongly supported by active contesters from around the globe. We know that everyone who volunteered will help in any way they can to make WRTC

2014 another success."

There are less than 7 months remaining until WRTC2014. Questions regarding

WRTC2014 Referee selection should be submitted by e-mail to

List of Referees

9A4M Mate Botica

CX7TT Tom Morton

DL2OBF Heinrich Langkopf

EA5RS Juan M. Chazarra

ES5RY Toomas Soomets

F6BEE Jacques Saget

G3SXW Roger Western

G4BUO Dave Lawley

GM4AFF Stewart Cooper

HA1AG Zoli Pitman

HA3NU László Weisz

HA6ND Válóczi György

HB9CAT Marco Zollinger

IT9GSF Fabio Grisafi

JH4RHF Jun Tanaka

K4BAI John T. Laney III

K4RO Kirk Pickering

K5GN David McCarty

K5GO Stan Stockton

K5WA Bob Evans

K6NA Glenn Rattmann

K7GK Denis Pochuev

KC7V Mike Fulcher

LY7Z Andrius Ignotas

LZ1CNN/T6LG Ilian Lazarov Gadzhev

LZ2HM Andrey Stefanov Sachkov

N3RD David Hawes

N5AW Marvin Bloomquist

NF4A Charles Wooten

OE6MBG Michael S. Schwab

OH1RX Jouko Häyrynen

PA3AAV Gert Meinen

PY8AZT Luc Moreira

RA3AUU Igor "Harry" Booklan

RA9USU Dmitry Zhikharev

RW4WR Alex Orlov

S50XX Kristjan Kodermac

S53R Robert Kasca

SM6LRR Mats Strandberg

SP4Z Wieslaw Kosinski

UA9MA Gennady I Kolmakov

UT5UGR Dmitry Stashuk

UT7QF Igor Syerikov

VA2WA Victor Androsov

VE3EY Nick Lekic

VE3RA Ed Kulchenko

VE3XB Yuri Romanov

VK2IA Bernd Länger

VK4EMM John Loftus

W0YK Ed Muns

W4PA Scott E. Robbins

W6OAT Charles K. "Rusty" Epps

YL2KL Girts Budis

YO9GZU Tiberiu "Tibi" Tebeica

YU1EA/YT8A Dušan Ceha

YU1LA Ivan Mastilovic

ZL3CW/F2CW Jacques Calvo

ZS4TX Bernie van der Walt

ZS6EZ Chris R. Burger

About WRTC2014

The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and consists of 50+ two-person teams of amateur radio operators from around the world competing in a test of operating skill. Unlike most on-the-air competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas from the same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating ability.

Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle (1990), San Francisco (1996), Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002), Brazil (2006), and Russia (2010).